Content: Assorted

Just another WordPress.com site

Book #1

I was honestly starting to forget how satisfying it is to read a good book that has nothing to do with my classes. It took me almost a month to finish, and it’s not quite summer yet, but I’m starting my summer book list with:

Word Freak: Heartbreak, Triumph, Genius, and Obsession in the World of Competitive Scrabble Players by Stefen Fatsis

First, it must be addressed that reading this book probably is just as nerdy as it sounds. Having accepted that, I loved this book. The set up: a sports journalist for the Washington Post takes an extended leave of absence to immerse himself in the sub-culture of competitive Scrabble. The result is part memoir, part history of the game and part character study–a truly fascinating read.

If you love Scrabble, I feel safe in saying that you will enjoy this book. But its more than just a book for die-hard fans–this is a story that can be appreciated by anyone that has ever loved something that they took it from a hobby to an obsession; this is a story that has just as much suspense and struggle as a great sports game. I promise. I guarantee that you will learn new words, new ways to think about words, and new ways to think about people that love board games.

Next to come: a book I read in less than 24 hours.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

